Hornets selected as Scorpions

After a South Island trial at the Hornets Nest (Halswell Domain), in which all five districts were represented, a 25 man was named for the 2012 National Competition. While the team is missing a number of experienced personnel, the team is full of youth and skill. Seven Hornets were picked for the South Island Scorpions Premier Squad to take part in the National Competition in September and October this year. Will Tafua, Junior Salevao, Toi Sepuloni, Jordan Kane, Garry Hape, Brad Austin and captain, Jaye Pukepuke will represent Halswell as they don the White and Black jersey to represent the South Island.

The Scorpions will play against six North Island teams over the coming two months with their first fixture against the Waicoa Bay Stallions in Huntly on Sunday 2nd September. While Jaye, Toi, Will and Junior experienced life as a Scorpion in 2011, the experience will be a new one for Brad, Garry and Jordan. While Brad was in Australia for last year’s rugby league season, Jordan and Garry were a part of the South Island Competition-winning Canterbury A side in 2011, and have the step up this year into the top side. We wish our Hornets representatives all the best for selection in the Scorpion sides to take on the North Island teams, and all the best for the 2012 National Competition. We know you will do us all very proud and continue your fantastic form in 2012!!

2012 South Is. Scorpions – Premier Squad

Ah Tong                   Peter                    Aranui Eagles                 Canterbury

Austin                      Brad                     Halswell Hornets            Canterbury

Baxendale                James                   Hornby Panthers             Canterbury

Bowden                   Shane                   Linwood Keas                 Canterbury

Curtis                       Byron                   He Tauaa                        Southland

Edmonds                  Tyrone                Aranui Eagles                  Canterbury

Faalilo                      Kolone                Aranui Eagles                  Canterbury

Fidow-Kele              Thoren                Linwood Keas                  Canterbury

Grant                        Corey                  Suburbs                            West Coast

Green                       Cole                    Runanga                           West Coast

Hape                         Garry                   Halswell Hornets            Canterbury

Ka                            Josh                     Aranui Eagles                  Canterbury

Kane                        Jordan                  Halswell Hornets             Canterbury

Leka                         Kyle                    Celebration Lions            Canterbury

Neho                        Jared                    Riccarton Knights            Canterbury

Pukepuke                 Jaye                     Halswell Hornets             Canterbury

Reuben                    Josh                     Northern Bulldogs           Canterbury

Rosvall                    Luke                    Riccarton Knights            Canterbury

Salevao                    Junior                  Halswell Hornets             Canterbury

Sepuloni                  Toi                       Halswell Hornets             Canterbury

Tafua                      John                     Celebration Lions             Canterbury

Tafua                      Will                      Halswell Hornets             Canterbury

Tou                          Patella                 Aranui Eagles                  Canterbury

Tukapua                  Cameron              Aranui Eagles                  Canterbury

Ward                       James                   Runanga                           West Coast

Share this:

No comments so far

Leave a Comment